top of page

Goals and Dreams

I always write about my move from Egypt to Canada with my family. The emotional struggle, the culture shock, the difficulty to fit in. What I never wrote about is my academic struggle. If we have spoken to each other briefly, I had probably told you this story. 10 years and 7 months ago, my family decided to pack up and leave Egypt. I was in the middle of my senior year in high school. 6 months away from graduation. We moved and I had no idea what the future had in store for me. I had no idea what I was going to do or what was waiting for me on the other side. Long story short, I went to a school, I had a meeting and the councilor asked me what I wanted to do after graduation. I told him I wanted to study Engineering. I always wanted to study Engineering since as long as I could remember. It was a dream I had, a goal I was working towards. The councilor told me what I needed to study and what grades to achieve in order to get into Engineering. I thought it was going to be a piece of cake. Unfortunately, I was mistaken. I was struggling so much. I was studying hours and hours daily trying to make up for all the time lost and the things I missed. I was crying, praying and working so hard to get where I wanted. To achieve my goal. Fast forward, the year ends. I graduate with some good grades considering the circumstances…but I did not get accepted into Engineering. I was so upset but thankful I got into something. I thought it was okay and will try transfer. I tried not once but three times. Until I had decided to move on. I decided to just focus on what I was studying. To graduate. I was sure God had a different path for me. I was still upset that I was never able to get where I wanted. I wondered what would have happened had I stayed in Egypt. I started accepting the circumstances three years ago. The move, the not-being-able-to-study-Engineering. My goals changed. My dreams changed. My ambitions changed. That does not make me a failure or a person with lack of ambitions. If anything, depsite the circumstances, I was still able to graduate with a Bachelor’s degree. I am working a full-time job I love. I got a promotion in less than a year. I am working on improving myself and expanding my horizons. I have so much I want to achieve and a lot to work on. Despite what I have been through, I was able to excel.

Sometimes we will cross paths with people who will try to tear you down. Remind you of the things that you have been through, your struggles only to make themselves feel better. You make them feel inferior and they need to feel that you are below them. Never allow anyone to underestimate your achievements or your work. Just because you did not achieve a goal that was set at 14 or 15, decided to change goals and work towards something else that you are a failure and do not deserve to be proud of yourself. Focus on yourself, look at how far you’ve come. Pay attention to your path and only yours. Do not get distracted by other people’s comments. You’ve worked hard to be where you are. Be proud of yourself.




30 views0 comments
bottom of page